– Loss of a troublesome team in the World Cup final
– The ICC rule should be changed immediately
Abu Dhabi: Mumbai’s 48-run win over Kings XI Punjab in a one-off clash on Thursday has been a heated issue on social media.
Pollard faced the last delivery of the 17th over. Shami threw the ball to the left. Soon Pandya and Pollard went for a run. Shami appealed to the umpire because the umpire was out.
Upon reaching Pollard’s crease, the umpire requested a review of the verdict. At Ultra Edge, the ball was hitting the bat and going to the left. Then the umpire notout ruled. ALSO READ: How is the decision to tie in a Super Over?
The question is why?
The debate has just begun on the back of the umpire’s decision. If two batsmen did not run, there would be no problem. But here’s a run. Replay is also evident in the ball hitting the bat end. Thus a run should be given to Mumbai and Pollard. Cricket fans are questioning the BCCI and the ICC as to why they have legitimately run 1 but not given 1 run.
Former cricketer and cricket commentator Akash Chopra said that Pollard and the Mumbai Indians did not get 1 run. LBW provided. In retrospect it was confirmed to be Inside Edge. But he did not run easily. This rule can be a problem for a team if the beloved ICC is ahead of the World Cup. He wrote that we need to think again about this issue.
The idea of Akash Chopra has been appreciated by the fans. What if the team needed 2 runs in the last ball of the World Cup final? The umpire is out and then the team is losing. The 2019 World Cup final decision is in line with the rule.
Pollard and #ME denied a single. LBW given. Reviewed. Inside edge confirmed. But the easy run they took won’t count. Dear @ICC, this might cost someone the World Cup someday. Need a rethink. Umpires will have to reserve their decision till the ball is dead. #MIvKXIP
– Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) October 1, 2020
The umpire not out ruled after the batting team had asked for a review of the out, but the runs were not valid. Two batsmen are running at the same time as the umpire lb out. This run is not included for this reason.
What happen it’s WC final
If team need 2 run in last ball
Ball impact on pad n goes for four
Umpire given out
But reviwed decision not out … That would also a same decision like 2019 WC final 😑😑😌😌
— PROUD इंडियन (@ProudBhupesh910) October 1, 2020
Pollard, who scored 47 off 20 balls against Pakistan, was awarded the man of the match award.
Absolutely right… I was keeping an close eye on the scoreboard while watching that over. They didn’t add it after the decision was reversed.Poor move. @ICC should rethink upon this. #IPL #KXIP #ME #KXPvsMI
– Zahoor (@ BhatZahoor92) October 1, 2020
What was in the World Cup cricket?
The final match between England and New Zealand at the 2019 World Cup was also a tie for Super Over. But England won the World Cup because it hit the highest boundary. In an important event such as the World Cup, the players were heavily opposed to the decision on a boundary. After criticism, the ICC changed the super over rules in February 2020.
Great point sir. Flip side – does the fielding side continue to keep fielding even after the umpire gives an out decision ? The ball going dead after an umpire gives out, seems quite natural ..
– Shreyans Mehta (@ ShreyansMehta7) October 1, 2020