Akash Chopra said that this is why the ICC changed the format of the T20 World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that the number of teams will be increased to 20 in the men’s T20 World Cup. The tournament will be held every two years from 2024 to 2030. The ICC has confirmed that 14 teams will take part in the men’s one-day World Cup 2027 and 2031. The ICC said how the tournament will be held. The new format of the ICC T20 World Cup consists of four groups. In each group, 5-5 teams participate. The top two teams of each group will advance to Super 8. This is followed by the semifinals and finals.

In addition, the ICC announced the return of the Champions Trophy in 2025. Former India leader and commentator Akash Chopra spoke about the ICC’s decision on his YouTube channel. When thinking about the T20 World Cup, he said that the ICC is probably under pressure from domestic T20 leagues like the Indian Premier League (IPL). There will be 20 teams in the 20-over World Cup. The ICC was probably under pressure from the domestic T20 League and that is why the T20 World Cup will have 55 matches. It is as big as the IPL.

Why batsmen in England have more trouble than England bowlers: Ajit Agarkar

That’s why they try to give the big T20 league every two years. But this is a tournament that is played by countries and not franchises. The 20 teams are divided into five groups each. Each team will play against the other teams in the group. So you have 40 matches. The eight qualifying teams are again divided into two groups, then the semifinal and final.

Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only. We are not uploading or coping any content without relevant content owner permission, All information on the Site is provided in good faith, however we make no representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, adequacy, validity, reliability, availability or completeness of any information on the Site.