IPL 2021: Kolkata Knight Riders see third title, know the strength and weakness of the team

The 14th season of the Indian Premier League, also known as Cricket Festival in India, is over. All teams decorated by star players are busy finalizing their preparations. The first match of the tournament will be played on April 9 between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The Kolkata Knight Riders, who have won the IPL twice, seem to have plenty of balance this time around. The arrival of players like Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Cutting and Harbhajan Singh has given the team a lot of strength. Under the leadership of Eoin Morgan, KKR will be keeping an eye on the IPL trophy for the third time. Tell us how powerful KKR are and what weak sides they are, which may hinder the team’s dream of becoming a third time champion.

Great balance with the team

Kolkata Knight Riders relied heavily on Andre Russell to bat last season and the team could not make it to the playoffs due to their flop. However, this time around, the team has handled its flaws well and added world-class all-rounders like Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Cutting. In batting, the team has great batsmen such as Eoin Morgan, Shubman Gill, Dinesh Karthik, and the strength of Andre Russell and Cutting in the last overs. In bowling, the team has the best bowlers in the form of Pat Cummins, Krishna and Sandeep Warrior. In the spin department, the team has good bowlers like Sunil Narine and Harbhajan Singh.

The weakness of a high-order team

Though the Kolkata Knight Riders’ batting order has seen an army of explosive batsmen, the team’s top order does not look strong. Shubman Gill is not going through a good form at the moment, but Sunil Narine’s bat runs in just one match over five innings. Nitish Rana’s side have performed well in the last season, but have not had a big innings with their bat in domestic tournaments.

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Eoin Morgan (captain), Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Tim Seifert, Rahul Tripathi, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakraborty, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Loki Ferguson, Kamaleshwara Shakib Al Hasan, Sheldon Jackson, Vaibhav Arora, Karun Nair, Harbhajan Singh, Ben Cutting, Vekthanesh Iyer, Pawan Negi.